Loading Events

The Lost Supper: Book Launch

September 27 2023

Upstart & Crow Studio

Description

Craving a wonderful new read that “melds food history with culinary derring-do?” Join us on Thursday, Sept. 27 to launch the marvellous new book, The Lost Supper: Searching for the Future of Food in the Flavours of the Past,by Montreal-based journalist Taras Grescoe.

Grescoe will be joined by fellow journalist J.B. MacKinnon (The Day the World Stops Shopping, The 100-Mile Diet), for a lively evening of conversation and celebration. Books will be on sale. This event is free, but please register on Eventbrite, as our seating is limited! Thank you to the publisher, Greystone Books, for partnering with us on this event.

More about The Lost Supper: 

In the tradition of Michael Pollan, Anthony Bourdain and Mark Bittman, “a surprising, flavorsome tour of ancient cuisines” — from Neolithic bread to ancient Roman fish sauce — and why reviving the foods of the past is the key to saving the future.

Many of us are worried (or at least we should be) about the impacts of globalization, pollution, and biotechnology on our diets. Whether it’s monoculture crops, hormone-fed beef, or high-fructose corn syrup, industrially-produced foods have troubling consequences for us and the planet. But as culinary diversity diminishes, many people are looking to a surprising place to safeguard the future: into the past.

The Lost Supper explores an idea that is quickly spreading among restaurateurs, food producers, scientists, and gastronomes around the world: that the key to healthy and sustainable eating lies not in looking forward, but in looking back to the foods that have sustained us through our half-million-year existence as a species.

Acclaimed author Taras Grescoe introduces readers to the surprising and forgotten flavors whose revival is captivating food-lovers around the world: ancient sourdough bread last baked by Egyptian pharaohs; raw-milk farmhouse cheese from critically endangered British dairy cattle; ham from Spanish pata negra pigs that have been foraging on acorns on a secluded island since before the United States was a nation; and olive oil from wild olive trees uniquely capable of resisting quickly evolving pests and modern pathogens.

From Ancient Roman fish sauce to Aztec caviar to the long-thought-extinct silphium, The Lost Supper is a deep dive into the latest frontier of global gastronomy — the archaeology of taste. Through vivid writing, history, and first-hand culinary experience, Grescoe sets out a provocative case: in order to save these foods, he argues, we’ve got to eat them.

More about author Taras Grescoe:

Taras Grescoe is the author of seven nonfiction books and a widely read commentator on the interplay of food, travel, and the environment. His journalism has been published in many of the world’s leading newspapers and magazines, including the New York Times, the Guardian, and National Geographic. He lives in Montreal, Quebec.

The Lost Supper

“In vivid and engaging prose, Grescoe makes the case that we shouldn’t blame farming for our ills, but rather we need to return to ancient techniques and breeds. By remembering the diversity of forgotten foods we once ate, he argues that we can rebuild the health and resilience we’ve lost. The Lost Supper weaves fascinating history with delightful culinary adventure and will entrance anyone who’s longed to taste the flavors of the past.” — Gina Rae La Cerva, author of Feasting Wild

View Book

Other Events